Advent at Hornett Wholefoods – 15th December

Schlagfix-60x60

VBites vegan squirty cream

I have been asked for this quite a lot over the last few weeks, what with it being Christmas and everything and Vbites in Corby were able to get some in stock. I have to say I was a little sceptical at first having tried a few cream substitutes, some of which were as much like cream as the till in the shop. One I remember very vividly was a spelt-based one at VegFest in October that was more like paint being squeezed from a tube than cream and was probably as edible. Really nasty – even the dog wouldn’t eat it and she’ll eat everything she sees! Schlagfix however, is really lovely and would even rival traditional dairy cream for its lovely flavour and consistency. The ingredients are:

 Ingredients:
Water; Vegetable fat (15%); Sugar (10%); Corn syrup; soy protein isolate; Emulsifiers: E471, E481, E435; Salt, flavour, stabilizer: carrageenan; Color: beta-carotene, propellant: nitrous oxide.
Nutritional info per 100g: Energy: 866 kJ / 208 kcal Protein: 0.5 g Carbohydrates: 17.8 g – of which sugars: 13.9g – of which lactose: 0.0 g Fat: 15.0 g – saturated fat:14.9g cholesterol: 0 mg, Dietary Fibre: 0 g sodium: <0.1 g

So not exactly diet friendly, but who cares about that at Christmas?! This is what it looks like when it’s released from the can:

WP_20151215_10_03_04_Pro[1]I can’t wait to have it with my Christmas dessert – I’m having the raw vegan chocolate cheesecake that I blogged about a few weeks ago. It’d be great on hot chocolate with Freedom vegan marshmallows and grated Vanoffe chocolate on top too, don’t you think? I’m having Homer Simpson style joy at the scene in my head right now…

(I bet you’re wondering what happened to the cream after I took the picture? Well, I got a spoon and I ate it all on its own. And it was good. It was a bit of a struggle to not just squirt the rest onto the plate and finish off the can, to be honest!)

Merry Christmas banner

Leave a Reply

